Tuesday, 28 April 2015

ESSCom's Battle Is Not Over, Says Commander

LAHAD DATU, April 28 -- Eastern Sabah Security Command (ESSCom) commander Datuk Abdul Rashid Harun said the battle for security in the Eastern Sabah Security Zone (ESSZone) is not over even though security in the zone has now improved.

In this regard, he wanted ESSCom personnel to renew their determination in assisting the government to accomplish its mission to defend the sovereignty and security of the people especially in ESSZone.

Abdul Rashid also thanked ESSCom personnel especially officers who had serrved the body and returned to the peninsular for their contribution and service to ESSCom.

"I can still remember in the beginning (2013), ESSCom was facing various challenges including the lack of personnel...at that time, we only had 46 officers to conduct various activities and operations of ESSCom.

"Nonetheless, the constraints did not deter us from fighting to control security in ESSZone. Thankfully two years later, security in ESSZone has improved, but our battle is not over," he said at a farewell ceremony for four senior ESSCom officers here Monday night.

Also present were ESSCom chief executive officer Ruji Ubi, ESSCom Logistics and Administrative director Brig Gen Subari Tomo, ESSCom Special Forces director SAC Mohammad Ismail, ESSCom Air Operation Division director Brig Gen Abd Razak Ahmad and ESSCom Secretariat Division director Newmond Tibin.

The officers transferred to the peninsula were Air Task Force/Marine Police chief of staff SAC Abdul Manaf Othman, Investigation 1 deputy chief of staff ACP Ahmad Taufek Abdullah, Investigation II deputy chief of staff ACP Willey Anak Ricard and Air Task Force deputy chief of staff ACP Kamaruddin Ismail.

ESSCom was established on April 1, 2013 after the Tanduo intrusion in Lahad Datu, earlier that year.

ESSZone comprises 10 districts encompassing 1,733.7 kms from Kudat to Tawau. The districts involved are Kudat, Kota Marudu, Pitas, Beluran, Sandakan, Kinabatangan, Lahad Datu, Kunak, Semporna, and Tawau. (Bernama)

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...